Statement

I have been making ceramics since 2001 as I trained at Plymouth College of Art from 2001-2006, gained a BTec and BA in Craft Design.  After graduating,  I competed a City AndGuildsAdult Education Certificate and have been running small art and design based classes since then. Between 2012-2014 I completed  an MA in Experimental Archaeology atExeterUniversity.  At PCA , I developed a love of using white porcelain as a ceramic white canvas for ceramic colour.  I also became an adherent of DeWaal’s proposition that studioproducedtablewareis best when made in porcelain due to its durability and hygienic qualities. 
Other parts of my practice include experimental archaeology, research into refractories and prospecting of ceramic raw materials. 
The main element of my practice is the pottery wheel.  Learning how to throw pottery is like learning a musical instrument, it requires constant practice.